Auditor General's Office.—This Office originated in 1878 (SC 1878, c. 7) and currently functions under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116). The Auditor General is responsible for examining accounts relating to the Consolidated Revenue Fund and to public property, and for reporting annually to the House of Commons the results of his examinations. He also audits the accounts of various Crown corporations and other instrumentalities.

Board of Broadcast Governors.—This Board, established under the provisions of the Broadcasting Act which was assented to on Sept. 6, 1958, is given authority to regulate radio and television broadcasting in Canada. The Board has authority to regulate the establishment and operation of both public and private broadcasting stations and networks of stations. Applications for licences to establish new broadcasting stations, for changes in the facilities of existing stations or for changes in the ownership or in the share structure of licensees are referred to the Board by the Minister of Transport for a recommendation before being dealt with. The Board has three full-time and twelve part-time members and reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

Board of Grain Commissioners.—Constituted in 1912 under the Canada Grain Act (RSC 1952, c. 25), the Board of Grain Commissioners provides general supervision over the physical handling of grain in Canada by licensing elevator operators, inspecting and weighing grain received at and shipped from terminal elevators, and other services. The Board, comprising a Chief Commissioner and two Commissioners, has authority to inquire into any matter relating to the grading and weighing of grain, deductions for dockage or shrinkage, deterioration of any grain during storage or treatment, unfair or discriminatory operation of a grain elevator, etc. The Board publishes its regulations in the Canada Gazette and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture.

Board of Transport Commissioners.—The powers of this Board, which was organized as the Board of Railway Commissioners in 1904, have been extended from time to time until today it has regulatory and judicial functions dealing with almost all aspects of railway activity including location, construction and operation of lines, rates and charges. It is also entrusted with the regulation of other transportation and communication agencies, including express companies, telegraph companies, telephone companies other than those provincially or municipally controlled, international bridges and tunnels and inland shipping. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Bureau of Government Organization.—The Bureau was established by Order in Council dated Feb. 12, 1963, as a branch of the Privy Council Office (and designated as a "Department" for the purposes of the Civil Service Act and the Financial Administration Act), to facilitate the implementation of the recommendations of the Royal Commission on Government Organization. The responsible Minister is the Minister of Finance.

Canadian Government Printing Bureau.—The printing functions formerly provided by the Department of Public Printing and Stationery were transferred by Order in Council (PC 1963—1254) dated Aug. 21, 1963, to the Department of Defence Production. The latter Department, on Apr. 1, 1964, authorized the organization of the Canadian Government Printing Bureau as a distinct function under that Department, to be separated from the former Publications Branch and the Purchasing Stationery and Stores Branch of the Department of Public Printing and Stationery.

The Canadian Government Printing Bureau, under the direction of a General Manager, provides a variety of printing services, such as House of Commons Debates, Votes and Proceedings, Orders of the Day and other parliamentary papers for both Houses of Parliament, and other printing requirements of government departments and agencies. The main plant is located in Hull, Que.; smaller field units are located in the Ottawa area and in other major centres to provide government departments with quick service for their duplicating requirements.

Canadian Government Specifications Board.—This is an interdepartmental body composed of the Deputy Heads of 24 Federal Government departments and agencies. The Board operates under the auspices of the National Research Council through the medium of committees in which government and industry co-operate on a voluntary basis. The Board prepares specifications in commodity fields and for materials, processes and equipment required by government agencies, and arranges for necessary testing and research. An Index of Specifications is available on request to the CGSB Secretary, National Research Council, Ottawa.

Canadian Pension Commission.—This Commission, established in 1933 by amendments to the Pension Act (RSC 1952, c. 207), replaced the Board of Pension Commissioners, the first organization created to deal solely with war pensions for service in Canada's Armed Forces. The Commission's main function is the administration of the Pension Act under which it adjudicates upon all claims for pension in respect of disability or death arising out of service in Canada's Armed Forces; and Parts I to X inclusive of the Civilian War Pensions and Allowances Act, which provide for the payment of pensions in respect of death or disability arising out of civilian service related to the World War II effort. It also adjudicates on claims for pension under various other measures, including the Flying Accidents Compensation Order and the RCMP Continuation Act; authorizes and pays monetary grants accompanying certain gallantry awards bestowed on members of the Armed Forces; and administers various trust funds established by private individuals for the benefit of veterans and their dependants.